
Our castle history
Our hotel is a special place, rich in history and charm. The castle barracks, built between 1857 and 1860, served as accommodation for the Leibbataillon (Life Battalion) from Easter 1860 and was a training center for recruits of various military units until the First World War.
Our guests are consistently delighted by the unique ambiance that blends the historic architecture with modern, timeless furnishings. The impressive rooms of the former barracks have been lovingly restored and transformed into a hotel that captivates with its exceptional atmosphere.

The castle barracks were built between 1857 and 1860. They were used from Easter 1860 onwards to house the Leibbataillon (Life Battalion). Until the First World War, the barracks served as a training facility for recruits of various military units.
The castle barracks complex also included several ancillary buildings, such as the military hospital (now a residential and commercial building), the drill and riding hall (now a sports hall), and the non-commissioned officers' quarters on Hasselfelder Straße. After the end of the First World War, the barracks had to be closed due to the Treaty of Versailles.
On October 15, 1848, the "Ducal Brunswick Life Battalion," numbering 500 men, was transferred to Blankenburg on the orders of Duke Wilhelm. Their temporary accommodation in various school buildings was a stopgap measure. Therefore, in 1855, the government decided to build an infantry barracks to house the Life Battalion.
The barracks are located on the former "Grätzel" factory site; a cloth factory which was demolished after its closure. The first building plans were drawn up as early as 1854 by the then-construction engineer Georg Hilziger, based on designs by building councilor Carl Heinrich Wilhelm Wolf. The district building inspector, Carl Fröhlich, was commissioned as the architect of the barracks.


On October 15, 1848, the "Ducal Brunswick Life Battalion," numbering 500 men, was transferred to Blankenburg on the orders of Duke Wilhelm. Their temporary accommodation in various school buildings was a stopgap measure. Therefore, in 1855, the government decided to build an infantry barracks to house the Life Battalion.
The barracks are located on the former "Grätzel" factory site; a cloth factory which was demolished after its closure. The first building plans were drawn up as early as 1854 by the then-construction engineer Georg Hilziger, based on designs by building councilor Carl Heinrich Wilhelm Wolf. The district building inspector, Carl Fröhlich, was commissioned as the architect of the barracks.



The castle barracks were built between 1857 and 1860. They were used from Easter 1860 onwards to house the Leibbataillon (Life Battalion). Until the First World War, the barracks served as a training facility for recruits of various military units.
The castle barracks complex also included several ancillary buildings, such as the military hospital (now a residential and commercial building), the drill and riding hall (now a sports hall), and the non-commissioned officers' quarters on Hasselfelder Straße. After the end of the First World War, the barracks had to be closed due to the Treaty of Versailles.
Drawings from 1921 by the Army Construction Office in Aschersleben suggest that the barracks were used for residential purposes until the introduction of universal conscription in 1933. During the Third Reich, the barracks were again used for military purposes, housing a wide variety of military units. On May 13, 1946, the Soviet military administration vacated the barracks and, by official authorization, made them available for residential use only.
Parts of the castle barracks were still inhabited until early 2009. From April 2009 until its opening on February 01, 2010, the barracks were converted into a four-star hotel. The listed building was complemented by a new building on the former barracks courtyard, which houses the reception area and restaurant.

In 2015, Suzann and Frank Heinemann took over the Schlosshotel Blankenburg, having already been commissioned to manage the hotel through their consulting services since 2012. Since then, a wellness area with saunas, a relaxation area, and treatment rooms has been created in the castle's vaulted cellars, and further extensive renovations have been carried out in the lobby, along with a redesign of the restaurant and terrace.
Impressions of the history from barracks to hotel
BEFORE, AFTERWARDS
















